top of page

Music Monday: Amanda Palmer

Amanda Palmer is my artistic hero in so many ways, many of which I struggle to find words for. "In My Mind" is one of my favorites....

In my mind In a future five years from now I'm one hundred and twenty pounds And I never get hung over Because I will be the picture of discipline Never minding what state I'm in And I will be someone I admire And it's funny how I imagined That I would be that person now

Her music and her business, herself even, seem to be polarizing - rabid fans and haters alike - most people do not seem to land on indifferent regarding her.

Be careful - some of her music videos are decidedly NSFW, like this one.

I'm not the killing type, I'm not But I would kill to make you feel No, I don't mean kill someone for real I couldn't do that, it is wrong But I can say it in a song

A quick google search will give you an idea of the degrees of adoration and viriol that surround her. If you're looking for a general idea of her work without quite as much bias, try the wikipedia entry for a primer.

I think part of why I like her work is how she creates intense, honest work that stabs right into the heart. Without appology.

And I lay there wondering, what is the matter? Is this a matter of worse or of better? You took the blanket, so I took the bedsheet But I would have held you if you'd only Let me

Theatre is Evil by Amanda Palmer and The Grand Theft Orchestra, rocketed her into the news as one of the most successful crowdfunded projects to date (at the time). Check out her TED talk:

And if you found it interesting, she recently wrote a book, The Art of Asking: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Let People Help.

----

A coworker and I were talking the other day and she asked me to start sending her music to check out. After we got it going, I thought I'd share some of the highlights here. Some of this you'll have seen/heard before, some of them not. I would love to hear about your favorites!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page